The Question Is, Is it Possible to Marry a City?

This hasn’t been the best week so far. Things that have happened:

On Friday I went on a second date with someone I’d gone on a first date with last Saturday, and on the date I just didn’t like him as much. Of course, this means he’s totally into me. This always happens. I haven’t completely gotten rid of him though. He wants to go out this weekend. I think he might be attractive if he shaved the pubes off his face. (That’s what I think beards generally look like. There are some exceptions. He is not one.)

The next day I did some major apartment hunting and found a bunch including a reasonably priced place in a nice neighborhood in Manhattan which I actually heard back from and it seemed legit so I went to see it (and two other places) on Saturday. This place was my favorite of the three. It’s a one bedroom, small of course but not minuscule. It has new kitchen appliances including a dishwasher (required) and it’s on the first floor of a 6 story building with no elevator (so yeah, some people walk up to the sixth floor every day–I told the agent he should advertise these apartments by saying that a gym membership is not required). It allows cats (also required) and there is laundry downstairs. Oh, and it’s about 5-6 blocks away from Central Park and the Metropolitan Museum of Art?

I emailed the agent before I even got home mentioning that I wanted that apartment. He said it was still available and I could come apply for it on Monday, so I came to the office early Monday morning and did the application. He said he’d try to let me know in a few hours.

I waited. Then I decided to check and make sure I’d gotten paid so I could afford all of the required deposits and such. I had not been paid.

Furious, I IMed Pike demanding to know where my money was. Apparently stuff had gotten messed up while he was out of town and finally, after much harassment, I got him to tell me I’d be paid Wednesday (that’s tomorrow).

Irritated, I started applying for jobs like a crazy person.

When I finally heard from the agent that evening, he said the landlord wasn’t in that day so I’d hear the next day (Tuesday, today). I was a bit relieved because I knew they’d want me to sign the lease and pay for everything right away, and obviously I couldn’t do that. So at least there’d be some time.

I was still afraid that I’d end up losing the apartment because of Pike’s err.

Then, I found an advertisement for the best job ever. I spent about an hour filling out their survey, and when I hit submit, I was told that the position had already been filled.

I wanted to cry.

On the way home I was so depressed I called Blue and whined at him for a half hour. It really helped.

Today things got a little better. First, Pike seemed on top of things payroll related, so although I haven’t been paid yet I’m actually expecting to see the money in my bank account tomorrow. Then, I got the email I was waiting for, THE APARTMENT IS MINE! Ladies and Gentlemen of the blogosphere, I am going to be a real Manhattanite! I am SO EXCITED. And I’m going to get my stuff back! I miss my stuff so much.

Then I got an email about one of the jobs I applied to, and they want to call me on Friday! I’d also gotten an email about another job (one I’m actually not really qualified for) that wanted to call me tomorrow, but I have no idea if they actually will be calling and if so, when they are going to call. The woman also asked me if I’d be interested in working in their office… in Cap City.

Oh no. Oh Hell no.

I wrote back saying I was not interested in working there, only in here.

Because this is where I want to be. I love this city.

Tags: , , , , , , , ,

About cloudy

I love cats, thunderstorms, roller coasters, coffee, and you.

4 responses to “The Question Is, Is it Possible to Marry a City?”

  1. CareaBearaSara says :

    Yay apartment! Yay Kitties! Good luck!

  2. Christina Does It All says :

    good luck girl. you really do live in an amazing city! (wish we would have been there at the same time! lol)

Leave a comment